11th Convocation of Desh Bhagat University

February 14, 2024 - PatialaPolitics

11th Convocation of Desh Bhagat University

The 11th Convocation of Desh Bhagat University was held today at the Shri Guru Hargobind Sahib Auditorium. Approximately 2012 students from the academic year 2022-23 were awarded degrees and diplomas during this grand event.


DBU Chancellor, Dr. Zora Singh, and Pro-Chancellor, Dr. Tajinder Kaur, extended their felicitations to the Chief Guest and Guest of Honour. Registrar, Dr. Col Pardeep Kumar, warmly welcomed the dignitaries, while Vice-Chancellor, Dr. Abhijit Joshi, presented the Annual Report of the University.


In his Convocation Address, Chief Guest and grandson of freedom fighter Bal Gangadhar Tilak Dr. Deepak J. Tilak, a distinguished figure embodying a rich legacy deeply rooted in India’s history and social fabric, emphasized the importance of viewing challenges as opportunities in our complex world. He stressed the significance of lifelong learning in this constantly evolving landscape, noting that knowledge acquired years ago may no longer be sufficient, particularly in light of rapid advancements in AI and machine learning. Dr. Tilak urged graduating students to utilize their knowledge for the nation’s betterment, highlighting their critical role in addressing contemporary challenges and contributing to societal progress.


Desh Bhagat University Chancellor Dr. Zora Singh delivered an inspiring speech, motivating and congratulating the graduating students of the university.


DBU President Dr. Sandeep Singh shared his thoughts, emphasizing the paramount importance of education and its pivotal role in shaping a brighter future. He expressed confidence in the graduates’ ability to uphold ethical principles and values instilled during their time at the university. Dr. Singh underscored that education at Desh Bhagat University not only imparts knowledge but also fosters open-mindedness, critical thinking, and a sense of responsibility towards society. He encouraged graduates to apply their education in making positive contributions to their communities and the world while maintaining ethical standards and moral integrity.


The University’s Deans proudly presented the students who completed their Degrees & Diplomas under their respective Faculties. The conferment and award of Honoris Causa (D.Lit) were bestowed upon distinguished individuals, including Dr. Deepak J. Tilak, Chancellor of Tilak Maharashtra Vidyapeeth, Pune; Prof. Goutam Roy Chowdhury, Chancellor of Techno India University Kolkata; Dr. Ittikorn Wattana, International VC of Yoga Samskrutham University, Florida; renowned homeopathy medicine practitioner Dr. Sukhvir Singh from New Delhi; and Harjinder Singh Walia, former professor of Punjabi University Patiala. Dr. Geetali Tilak received the Women Empowerment Award. Chancellor’s Distinguished Leadership Awards were conferred upon Dr. Vikram Dhingra, Dr. Rajiv Bali, Gian Singh Sandhu, Acharya Manish Ji, Tirlok Kapoor, and Manuja Joshi.


Appreciation Awards for the Promotion of Higher Education in Society were presented to Dr. Sameer Aggarwal, Director, Pinnacle Institute of Fashion Technology, Ludhiana; Major Mehta, Office Superintendent, MJK Institute of Nursing and Paramedical, Sri Muktsar Sahib; Sazzad Ahmed Bhat, Director, National Institute of Medical Sciences, Srinagar; Ajay Kumar, Director, Excellence Institute of Technology & Paramedical Sciences, Phillaur; and Mrs. Saloni Jadhav for their outstanding contributions in the field of Yoga.


Additionally, Awards of Chancellor’s Medal and University Medals, as well as Awards of Degrees of M. Phil and Ph.D., were presented to deserving recipients. Vice President, Dr. Harsh Sadawarti, Advisor to Chancellor, Dr. Virinder Singh, Medi Director Dr Surjit Kaur Patheja and DB Radio Station head Ms. Sangmitra were also present during the convocation, adding significance to the event with their presence