International Yoga Day Celebrated with Enthusiasm at Desh Bhagat University

June 21, 2024 - PatialaPolitics

International Yoga Day Celebrated with Enthusiasm at Desh Bhagat University

Mandi Gobindgarh, 21 June 2024: Desh Bhagat University Mandi Gobindgarh celebrated International Yoga Day with great enthusiasm today. International Yoga Day is observed worldwide to highlight the benefits of yoga for physical and mental health. At Desh Bhagat University the day began with a serene sunrise yoga session on the university grounds, where participants practiced various yoga asanas (poses) under the guidance of experienced instructors.

The event was organized by DBU with the collaboration of District Ayurvedic & Unani Office, Fatehgarh Sahib. The event was inaugurated by the Chief Guest, Smt. Isha Singhal, ADC District Fatehgarh Sahib and Dr. Zora Singh, Chancellor, Desh Bhagat University. The Chief Guest Smt Singhal gave the message to the yoga participants to perform the yoga daily for good health and mind. Dignitaries from various District Fatehgarh Sahib departments along with the members from District Ayurvedic department who have actively joined the event include Dr. Kulwinder Singh, Dr. Diwan Dhir, Dr. Sandeep, Dr. Rajan Kaushal. In this mega event around 750 participants performed yoga which includes the staff and students of Desh Bhagat University.
Following the yoga session, a series of interactive workshops and demonstrations were held throughout the day, focusing on different aspects of yoga such as breathing techniques (pranayama), meditation and stress management. Students and faculty enthusiastically participated in these activities, learning practical techniques to incorporate yoga into their daily lives.

After the yoga session the plantation was also performed in the memory of late. S. Lal Singh by Dr. Zora Singh, Chancellor, Desh Bhagat University. The dignitaries of DBU who also joined the drive were Dr. Virinder Singh, Advisor to Chancellor, Dr. Rajeev Kumar, Pro-Vice Chancellor, Prof. Sudeep Banerjee, Registrar, Dr. Parveen Kumar, COE, Dr. Kulbhushan, Director Ayurveda, Dr. Smita Johar Principal, Dr. Amandeep Sharma, Vice-Principal, Dr. Sanamika, Mr. Satyam Kumar, Mr. Sanjeev Sharma and students of the Desh Bhagat Ayurvedic College and Hospital have also participated by planting the plants.